Ash Wednesday

OK. So the comic is silly, but kind of cute…

Stephen reminded me earlier this week that Wednesday began the forty-day (not counting Sundays) countdown to the celebration of Jesus’ resurrection. This period of time is sometimes referred to as ‘lent‘, which represents the tradition of fasting from something (food, internet, caffeine, etc) during this period of time. Growing up, this never made much sense to me, and I never really kept the tradition, but in the past several years, I have grown fond of it.

This year, I will fast from caffeine. And every time I crave the pick-me-up in the morning, I will choose to reflect on those last weeks of Christs’ life before He went to the cross to purchase my freedom.

How ’bout you?

Leave a Reply

