Who Was I?

I spent some time looking at the Scripture this morning for the first time in several days. It’s so easy to let that piece of my day get away when I get busy. Somehow the logic goes, “I have to work 10 hours today so I need my extra sleep so that I can have a good attitude and be a good witness to the people I’ll work with.”

And there’s some wisdom in that. But not when it’s the usual case. My soul can’t survive long without meditating on God. No one’s can, I believe.

This morning, I decided to wait until I got to work to get into the Word, so that the drive in could wake me up a little bit. When I got here, I realized that I don’t have my Bible, so I used BibleGateway instead. I haven’t used that site for much in a while, but they have really made it useful!

So this morning, I was read Acts 11, and a line really jumped off the page. The context is that Peter is getting a bunch of crap from the religious people because he spent time with, and ate with non-Jews. Basically, these were the bloggers/watchdogs/jealous wannabe ministry guys who chose to criticize Peter for what God did through him because they were jealous that He didn’t use them instead. (The amount of time that is spent each week writing blog posts criticizing Mark Driscoll really comes to mind here)

In verse 17, Peter is in the middle of giving his defense, and he asks, “Who was I that I could stand in God’s way?”

Let that question sink in for a minute.

Let me tell you what it means to me.

“God I really want to be a good husband and I want to lead Stephanie well and I want to do better with our finances and I want to love better and I want to make our home a restful sanctuary and I want to keep making progress towards being in full-time ministry some day…”

“And God I don’t like my job but my heart really goes out to the people here and I want to see them come to know you and I don’t know how to balance all this very well and they make me work these long hours and how are they going to know how much I don’t like it if I’m always smiling and loving them and when are You going to give me a job where I can do what I love all day and…”

“And God I love my family and there are so many who are still far from you and I want to be really intentional about reaching them and I want to see a church planted in Henderson and I want see awesome things happen in my own church and… and and…”

pause

(picture large, beautiful Lion with a gentle grin)

Who am I that I could stand in God’s way?

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

