“Shout To The Lord” on American Idol

I’m sure you’ve seen all the blog uproar about the song “Shout To The Lord” being used on the show American Idol. I honestly didn’t think too much of it when I first heard it. My knee jerk reaction was to be even more disillusioned with Hollywood that they took the word ‘Jesus’ out of the song. And more than anything, I was shocked that Hillsong (the people who own the song) would allow it. But this blog post by Joshua Harris changed my perspective on the matter, and really challenged me about what it means to be a follower of Jesus and to represent Him on this earth.

(and it turns out that Hillsong gave permission to use the song, but not to change it)

What do you think?

2 Responses

  1. So, I didn’t see them sing the song on Wednesday, but I heard that is when they took “Jesus” out. I did see them sing it on Thursday, to open the show, and they sang the song with, as far as I could tell, all of the words. Maybe Hillsong saw them change the words on Wednesday and they were forced to redo the song with the original words on Thursday. Maybe that’s why they performed it twice.

    Did they hum the “Jesus” part or just go silent? Did they take out “Jesus” or did they remove “Lord”, “Savior”, “King”, etc.?

    My hmmhmm, My hmmhmm
    hmm there is none like you.

  2. You’re funny, Shannon.

    No, they replaced ‘Jesus’ with ‘Shepherd’.

Leave a Reply

