The Church

I’ve been thinking about this song a lot lately, so I figured I’d make sure you know about it.

It’s called “The Church”, and it comes from Derek Webb’s first solo album, “She Must And Shall Go Free”.

It starts like this:

i have come with one purpose
to capture for myself a bride
by my life she is lovely
by my death she’s justified

i have always been her husband
though many lovers she has known
so with water i will wash her
and by my word alone

so when you hear the sound of the water

you will know you’re not alone

‘cause i haven’t come for only you
but for my people to pursue
you cannot care for me with no regard for her
if you love me you will love the church

You can read all the lyrics from that album here.

Leave a Reply

