Reconciling the beatitudes with being American

I was reading in Luke 6 this morning. After Jesus pronounces His ‘blesseds’, He pronounces His ‘woes’:

24(AS) “But woe to you who are rich,(AT) for you(AU) have received your consolation.

25“Woe to you who are full now, for(AV) you shall be hungry.

“Woe to(AW) you who laugh now, for you shall mourn and weep.”

And I asked myself, “What’s fundamentally wrong with being rich?”

And I responded (to myself), “Because all rich people know some poor people, and that means that they are withholding their riches at the cost of their friends’ comfort and provision.”

And then I thought, “Well, most people seem to agree that all Americans are pretty much rich by the rest of the world’s standards. So, who are the poor people that we know?”

And then I thought, “Well, pretty much the rest of the world.”

And that’s kind of funny

…for about 5 seconds.

And then it’s disturbing and overwhelming.

I’m typing this on a computer that cost more than many people will make in the next 5 years.

What kind of steward am I being?

What kind of steward are you being?

One Response

  1. Zack, this is one of those tragedies I really struggle with. I’m sure you do as well. I thank God for stamping this issue on our hearts. I know He has blessed us for a reason and He watches us to see how we respond with those blessings. Only He can fully resolve these things we don’t understand. In the mean time, we just have to serve others with our eyes fixed on Him. Matthew 6:3: “But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing”. That should be our heart at all times.

Leave a Reply

